What I learnt in my first week of MBA classes- Other than the actual syllabus.

So, here I am, sitting at my desk in my tiny, train compartment like, room. This is, of course, not my own bedroom but the one that I will call home for the next four months at the student accommodation of the Singapore campus of my university. Four beds have been squeezed into this pixel like space in the huge ‘Block A’ that contains most of the lecture halls and all the dorms.

‘Classical Chillout’ playlist is softly serenading me as I try to focus on the core theories of Economics for the quiz that I have tomorrow. I should already know what I’m supposed to be studying because not only was the professor amazing at explaining it in class today but also because I have already done this in high school (which was almost a decade ago.)

MBA. Wow. I can’t believe I’m here.

Week 1 of 52 has just ended. Here are somethings that I learnt in the course if the seven days that I have been away from the life that I was leading prior.

  • Business School is no joke. The first introduction by the Dean was excruciatingly horrifying. She gave me a jolt of reality about how this next year of my life is going to be a herculean task… maybe worse.
  • Statistics is not that bad… or maybe my brain is just better equipped to deal with it now.
  • While doing a research project I might be spending more time in citing sources than actually researching.
  • As per the Alumni and the Faculty I need to get comfortable about ‘Networking.’ If anyone knows how to go about just randomly visiting offices of companies and inviting executives for coffee to talk to them, let me know.
  • I have now become more comfortable in typing my notes rather than jotting them down in a notebook. I don’t know if it is a good thing or a bad thing.
  • I can’t just sleep at 3 and expect to be fresh when I wake up at 7. Even though it used to work when I was 18, I’m much older now.
  • I am expected to somehow squeeze in about 30 hours of work in the 24 hours I get in the day.
  • Stretching the dollar is possibly just a myth. Singapore is super expensive!
  • Working in groups need not always be a hassle. Peer learning is totally a real thing.
  • You might be really proud of a certain achievement but it might get in the way of you getting a job so just take it out of your resume.
  • Sitting in the first row is not as bad as it is made out to be. It forces you to listen to the professor without getting distracted and then you can chill (or write blog posts) instead of banging your head against the wall when a quiz comes around.
  • Ask the questions that arise in your brain, no matter how stupid you think they are.
  • Wherever you go, you will always find birds of your feather to flock with. It is crazy how many people I found with similar interests.
  • How to sustain myself with only a microwave as a source of heat to cook with.
  • Figuring out which shower in the communal bathrooms works best is a boon. I now don’t have to struggle with the sharp pain of too much water pressure or the limp uselessness of low water pressure.
  • There is a thin line between waking up too early and finding no stalls available to go to pee in because now everyone else is getting ready too.
  • I miss my dog. So much.

 

One thought on “What I learnt in my first week of MBA classes- Other than the actual syllabus.

Leave a Reply

